NIRIN, the 22nd Biennale of Sydney


22nd Biennale of Sydney
March 14–June 8, 2020

The Biennale of Sydney announced today the first 33 artists, creatives and collectives who will participate in NIRIN, the 22nd Biennale of Sydney (2020).

Speaking at the media announcement, Brook Andrew, Artistic Director of the 22nd Biennale of Sydney, shared NIRIN as the title of the exhibition. Meaning edge, NIRIN is a word of Andrew’s mother’s Nation, the Wiradjuri people of western New South Wales.

Brook Andrew commented: “NIRIN is not a periphery, it is our centre, and it expresses dynamic existing and ancient practices that speak loudly. NIRIN decentres, challenges and transforms dominant narratives, such as the 2020 Captain Cook anniversary in Australia, and reorients Western mapping, shining a light on sites of being that are often ignored or rendered invisible. NIRIN is an inspirational journey driven by stories and grass-root practices, realised through twisting perceptions, moments of transition and a sense of being in the world that is interconnected.”

Seven themes inspire NIRIN: DHAAGUN (Earth: Sovereignty and Working Together); BAGARAY-BANG (Healing); YIRAWY–DHURAY (Yam-Connection: Food); GURRAY (Transformation); MURIGUWAL GIILAND (Different Stories); NGAWAAL-GUYUNGAN (Powerful-Ideas: The Power of Objects); and BILA (River: Environment).

Jo-Anne Birnie-Danzker, Director and CEO of the Biennale of Sydney, spoke of the significance of the 22nd Biennale as an artist- and First Nation-led endeavour, and its spirit of collaboration.

The 33 participants announced today who will be in the 22nd Biennale of Sydney are:
Tony Albert, Maria Thereza Alves, Lhola Amira, Sammy Baloji, Huma Bhabha, Blacktown Native Institution, Anna Boghiguian, Eric Bridgeman, Victoria Santa Cruz, Léuli Eshrãghi, Jes Fan, Nicholas Galanin, Fátima Rodrigo Gonzales, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Arthur Jafa, Hannah Catherine Jones, Bronwyn Katz, Mayun Kiki, Kylie Kwong, Barbara McGrady, Ibrahim Mahama, Teresa Margolles, Misheck Masamvu, Katarina Matiasek, Jota Mombaça, Prof Sir Zanele Muholi, The Mulka Project, S.J Norman, Taqralik Partridge, Laure Prouvost, Lisa Reihana, Latai Taumoepeau, and Gina Athena Ulysse.

The 22nd Biennale of Sydney will be presented free to the public from Saturday, March 14 to Monday, June 8, 2020 at the Art Gallery of NSW, Artspace, Campbelltown Arts Centre, Cockatoo Island, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia and the National Art School in Sydney.

Read more about Biennale of Sydney