BNLMTL 2014 combines a multi-sited exhibition, a dynamic series of panels, talks, performances, publications, conferences and other special events at cultural and academic institutions and public spaces throughout the city.

La Biennale de Montréal

L’avenir (looking forward)

22 October 2014 – 4 January 2015

Artistic Director: Sylvie Fortin

Press and professional preview: 21–22 October
Opening days public programmes: 20–23 October

L’avenir (looking forward) examines how contemporary artists give form to the question of “what is to come?” Shifting between assessment and anticipation, clearly grounded in the “now,” and informed by echoes of the past, the exhibition looks towards the future and strives to unveil a range of possibilities and rekindle some that may have been prematurely foreclosed. Through a broad range of works and media, including 25 new projects in film and video, sculpture, photography, painting, installation, performance and new media, L’avenir (looking forward) promises viewers powerful experiences: moments for contemplation, invitations to wonderment, occasions for exchange and calls to action.

La Biennale de Montréal has been completely reimagined with new executive and curatorial leadership. The 2014 edition of BNLMTL, L’avenir (looking forward), was conceptualized by Gregory Burke and Peggy Gale, and developed in tandem with co-curators Lesley Johnstone and Mark Lanctôt of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. All four curators worked in close collaboration with Sylvie Fortin, Executive and Artistic Director of La Biennale de Montréal.

Participating Artists:

  • Adaptive Actions
  • Abbas Akhavan
  • Edgar Arceneaux
  • Arctic Perspective Initiative
  • Nicolas Baier
  • Taysir Batniji
  • Amanda Beech
  • Ursula Biemann
  • Raymond Boisjoly
  • Andrea Bowers
  • Matthew Buckingham
  • Mikko Canini
  • Simon Denny
  • Dave Dyment
  • Charles Gaines
  • Ryan Gander
  • Goldin+Senneby
  • Babak Golkar
  • Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster
  • Nicolas Grenier
  • Isabelle Hayeur
  • Thomas Hirschhorn
  • Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen
  • Klara Hobza
  • Simone Jones and Lance Winn
  • Emmanuelle Léonard
  • Li Ran
  • Ann Lislegaard
  • Basim Magdy
  • Lynne Marsh
  • John Massey
  • Jillian Mayer
  • Shirin Neshat
  • Susan Norrie
  • Richard Ibghy and Marilou Lemmens
  • Kelly Richardson
  • Kevin Schmidt
  • Skawennati
  • Lisa Steele and Kim Tomczak
  • Hito Steyerl
  • Oleg Tcherny
  • Althea Thauberger
  • David Tomas
  • Suzanne Treister
  • Etienne Tremblay-Tardif
  • Susan Turcot
  • Anton Vidokle and Pelin Tan
  • Hajra Waheed
  • Lawrence Weiner
  • Krzysztof Wodiczko

BNLMTL 2014 is presented by La Biennale de Montréal and co-produced with the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal in collaboration with many Montréal institutions, including the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts, VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine, SBC Gallery of Contemporary Art, the Darling Foundry, Parisian Laundry, Arsenal Contemporary Art and more.

Image: Skavennati, Jingle Dancers in Stands, 2011, Production Still from Time Traveller, 2008-2013. Courtesy La Biennale de Montréal

Read more about La Biennale de Montréal