The preparations for documenta 14 have already begun: Bernd Leifeld, CEO of documenta und Museum Fridericianum Veranstaltungs-GmbH, introduced the international finding committee in Kassel.

The committee of eight members aims at finding an artistic director for documenta 14. The committee will meet in Kassel for the first time this weekend. The members are :

  • Suzanne Cotter –
 Director The Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto, Portugal
  • Chris Dercon
 – Director of Tate Gallery of Modern Art, London, Great Britain
  • Susanne Gaensheimer – 
Director of Museum für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt/Main, Germany

  • Kim Hong-hee
 – Director of Seoul Museum of Art, Seoul, South Korea
  • Koyo Kouoh
 – Artistic Director of RAW MATERIAL COMPANY, Dakar, Senegal
  • Matthias Mühling
 – Curator Galerie im Lenbachhaus, München, Germany 
(beginning 2014: Director Lenbachhaus, München, Germany)
  • Joanna Mytkowska
 – Curator of Museum for Modern Art, Warsaw, Poland
  • Osvaldo Sánchez – 
Director inSite05 Mexico-City, Mexico

During 2013 two more meetings are planned after the kick-off meeting in Kassel. In November 2013 the international committee proposes the artistic director of the documenta 14 to the supervisory board of documenta und Museum Fridericianum Veranstaltungs-GmbH, who will then be officially confirmed by the board.

The supervisory board consists of 5 representatives of the city of Kassel, 5 representatives of the State of Hesse and 2 representatives of the Federal Cultural Foundation.

documenta 14 will take place from 10. 06. until 17. 09. 2017 in Kassel.

Read more about documenta